I think she’s waking up.

by mollsmontgomery

Whew. That was a close one! I nearly GAVE UP on this thing. I’ve been known to give up on personal projects in the past, it may be a millennial thing, but I refuse to let this bloggy go. It still needs me. And I, it. So here we go again!

It’s December! It’s actually only one day before Christmas. And boy-howdy am I in the holiday spirit.

Before I shower you with words of joy and love and sales, I should probably tell you… I pretty much hate Christmas. I have for about 10 years. Scrooge I am not, friends. It has been a slow descent. And like most things in my life, I attribute this feeling to my many years in the restaurant industry. The holidays are meant for office parties and the only office that does not get a party, is a restaurant. Servers and bartenders are the ones in charge of getting Phyllis drunk and making sure she doesn’t fall off the cheesy Santa tablecloth into Doug the intern. It might sound like an easy gig, it’s not rocket science of course, but it has its pitfalls. After so many years, I wanted to hang out with my friends and family. Everyone in my generation is starting to make babies and have families and I only have so much time before the people I love start to fade away, physically and not. That was a large part of my decision to move onto another profession.

Now that I’m working like a regular Joe (and so far, not loving it), the holidays can be a part of my life like they never have before. I am about to have four days off in a row. It ain’t like I get a vacation or anything, but that’s some real time off people. My high school friends are in town, my family gets to see me, I can drink as much nog as I want without having that looming feeling that I have to goright back to work without even a full day to play with my new toys. Yuletide is doing something to me.

So with that being said, I plan to not Grinch up my family’s parties and actually enjoy myself. Why not, right?

BRB, in 2015!

