Monday morning reviewsies!

by mollsmontgomery

I’m awake, I’m awake! Alright folks, its that time. Time for yours truly to write her first review. Lord knows I talk trash daily but, to keep it here seems so official.

Over the weekend, Henry and I spent a lot of time in Cincinnati (a place we LOVE, don’t hate on the Queen City). We attended the 3rd Annual Bunbury Music Festival. The first year for us, we were open and excited to see what the festival had to offer. Before I proceed, I’ll give you some backstory. (I really, REALLY like backstory, but I promise to keep it brief.)

Fact : Henry and I both love music. Not like, oh I love this new Lady Gaga song. I’m talking about weeping within the first few minutes of seeing our 16th favorite band. Just, an obscene amount of happy tears. I know, emotional right? You’re not kidding. Luckily, in my lifetime, I’ve only met a handful of people who don’t  listen to music, other than what is playing in their car on their drive to work. On the other hand, even those that are paying attention, still lack that bone deep lust for a certain harmony or chord progression. My parents are both huge music lovers, as are H’s. Between us, our music collection is pretty intimidating. I can’t fill myself up with enough.

Fact : Last year, Henry and I were asked last minute if we wanted discounted tickets to Bonnaroo Art and Music Festival. With hesitation, we agreed it would be a once in a lifetime experience. And boy howdy…it was. We went with a group that had been the previous 5 years or so which made it pretty easy, considering the enormity of it all. It had such an impact on us, that we became lifers within the first few hours of the festival. If you ever, EVER have the opportunity to go to Bonnaroo, take it. You won’t regret it. (Just, don’t get too carried away, hippies.) We were hooked immediately.

Henry, especially, caught the festival bug. He and I were having a few problemos over the Spring (I have have yet to go into detail about this, you overly curious readers). While things were distant and strange, H still bought tickets for us both, just hoping that we’d work it out. (Pretty good guy, IMO.) Well guys, its obviously working out (woohoo love!) and we attended again in June. Shortly after, H bought us tickets to Bunbury AND Buckle Up Music Festival, both hosted in a beautiful park by the river in downtown Cinci. When Henry gives, he gives music. Is there a better gift?

Fact : I told you I really like backstory.

So, cut to, Friday afternoon. I left work early, a little ballsy in my first month of being here. But like I said, MUSIC MUSIC MUSIC. Yeatman’s Cove, where the festival was set, is gorge. A park by the water, with tents of craft beer, craft liquor drinks, food truck galor (Quan Hapa from Over-the-Rhine’s tofu bahn mi sandwich? They were baking their own bread people, that’s some serious food truck commitment.) Six tents with bands and solo acts abound! Compared to the middle of nowhere Tennessee, a festival right next to the baseball stadium is pretty strange. But the stage with the river in the background (people in their boats would float up and listen along) is pretty fucking cool.

Cage the Elephant, Fitz and the Tantrums, and Empire of the Sun filled our Friday. Saturday meant Paramore, with others we hadn’t heard before. That’s the best part about it all…discovery.

Below are some of the bands I wasn’t hip to before this weekend. I’m already starting on my new playlist.

(Sidenote : I miss mixtapes and cds. Playlist just doesn’t sound right, man.)

Bands to Check Out

Haerts

We had some time to kill between bands and I had seen their name on the bill at Bonnaroo but didn’t think twice. Woulda coulda shoulda, yaknow? I’m pleased I got to see them with a small crowd. Plus, she’s a babe.

Little Daylight

Tequila shots and this. So fun! Their debut record comes out tomorrow, get at it!

Fitz and the Tantrums

These guys killed it. You already know them but, here’s their newest single. So good.

Festival Rating – B+ (points taken for unlit port-o-potties and Fall Out Boy for headlining.)

I should mention, before I get outta here, that before the show on Saturday, H and I wanted to sit and eat something Dayton doesn’t offer (which, lets be honest locals, that’s not difficult to do). A friends’ recommendation led us to Tom + Chee, a fancy grilled cheese spot with a couple locations around the city. Holy shit, THIS place. We both ordered awesome sandwiches and some homemade creamy tomato basil soup for dipping. Now, my favorite part about eating out, no matter the price point, location, cuisine, whatever…is when people take care of their guests. It could be a pay-at-the-counter joint like Tom + Chee, but if they do you right, you remember. The tattooed GM approached us and politely asked us where we get our work done, that he admired it, and do we want a free donut. (Donut ie. grilled glazed donut with marshmallow mascarpone, chocolate and graham crackers, WTF.) That’s service babies!

I’m still tweaking stuff around here so pardon if anything is under construction.

I’ll leave you with a short hate list.
1. People who try to cross the street in the middle of lunch hour traffic and there’s a crosswalk RIGHT THE FUCK THERE.
2. People (especially weird, blue collar, old men) who when asked how their day is, go on a rant 45 minutes long about their shitty employees and their shitty life. We don’t care man, that’s what your crazy chain-smoking wife is for.
3. Seeing more than 3 people without teeth before 2pm. Yikes.

Happy Bastille Day, au revoir!

